Illustration Promotores del Pacto

Se define como promotores del pacto a las organizaciones sin ánimo de lucro (asociaciones de autoridades locales y regionales, redes, agencias temáticas...) con capacidad para promover el Pacto de los Alcaldes y movilizar y dar respaldo a sus socios o a las autoridades locales para la consecución de los objetivos del Pacto de los Alcaldes.

Actúan en sus territorios y áreas de pericia (por ejemplo, energía, medio ambiente, agua, aire) y a distintos niveles de gobierno (como europeo, nacional y regional o local) para promover la iniciativa Pacto de los Alcaldes y dar apoyo a los compromisos de sus firmantes. Los Promotores del Pacto, con conocimientos expertos de los marcos regulador, legislativo y económico bajo los cuales operan, ya sea a los niveles nacional, regional/local o europeo, se encuentran en una posición ideal para proporcionar consejo personalizado a los firmantes e identificar las sinergias con las iniciativas ya existentes.

Network of Cities with Lakes


President :Georgios Kapentzonis
País: Greece


Main contact:


«Water is the driving force of all nature» – Leonardo da Vinci

Lakes constitute an irreplaceable factor in every kind of life. As impressive mirrors of outstanding natural beauty, they reflect the unique beauty of the landscapes around them. Closely related to both the human element and the development of cities and surrounding areas, lakes always fascinate their visitors.

Europe has a remarkable aquatic wealth, with great biodiversity, consisting of both natural and artificial lakes. These lakes offer water supply and irrigation services, as well as opportunities for energy production, tourism promotion, leisure activities and environmental education. Nevertheless, their water resources are not inexhaustible but threatened by overuse and irrational management, making a concerted effort for their protection more and more urgent.

The “Network of Cities with Lakes” is a non-profit organization, founded in 2012 and based in the Municipality of Dorida, which is the seat of Mornos, the largest drinking water reservoir in Greece.

The basic objectives of the Network are:

  • The protection of lakes belonging to the administrative boundaries of the participating municipalities, by protecting the biodiversity and preserving the ecosystems and the water systems of these areas.

  • The joint action of its members in order to develop and promote cultural, educational, social and economic relations at National, European and International level.

  • The promotion of tourism and the sustainable development of the regions, with respect for the natural environment.

  • The participation in EU-funded development programs, as well as in programs launched by other national and international organizations.

  • The joint action and cooperation with scientific institutions and educational centers, as well as with EU statutory bodies and recognized international organizations and the conduction of research in order to exploit new forms of development, which are fully compatible with the natural and cultural environment of its members.

  • The exchange of ideas, knowledge, information and experiences among the members of the Network and other organizations with similar objectives and the organization of joint promotional, advertising, environmental and cultural activities.

  • The access to information, through the use of databases and new technologies.

The Network encounters to date the following 36 members from Greece, Cyprus and Albania.

Municipalities –members:

  1. Municipality of Agrafa

  2. Municipality of Agrinio

  3. Municipality of Aigialeia

  4. Municipality of Aktio – Vonitsa

  5. Municipality of Amfilochia

  6. Municipality of Argithea

  7. Municipality of Veria

  8. Municipality of Volvi

  9. Municipality of Domokos

  10. Municipality of Dorida

  11. Municipality of Edessa

  12. Municipality of Ziros

  13. Municipality of Ilida

  14. Municipality of Thermo

  15. Municipality of Thiva

  16. Municipality of Ioannina

  17. Municipality of Karditsa

  18. Municipality of Karpenisi

  19. Municipality of Larnaka

  20. Municipality of Lamia

  21. Municipality of Plastiras Lake

  22. Municipality of Marathonas

  23. Municipality of Nafpaktos

  24. Municipality of Nikolaos Skoufas

  25. Municipality of Orchomenos

  26. Municipality of Paralimnio

  27. Municipality of Paranesti

  28. Municipality of Servia – Velventos

  29. Municipality of Sofades

  30. Municipality of Hersonissos

  31. Municipality of Voroklini

Associate members:

  1. Community of Alassa – Limassol District

  2. Central Greece Region

  3. European Centre for Environmental Research and Trainning (EKePEK)

  4. Municipality of Pustec – Albania

  5. Municipality of Pogradec – Albania

The Network pursues its continuous expansion with new members, as well as its geographical expansion at national and international level. Towards that direction, the Network aims to become a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC), in order to strengthen the European profile and gain greater knowledge and access to EU programs. This is a new organizational form of Municipalities and Regions at European level, for the management of territorial cooperation projects, supported by the Committee of the Regions.


Title Size Language
Network of Cities with Lakes Commitment Statement (ENG)601 Koenpdf
Last updated at: 7 julio 2017
The sole responsibility for the content of this website lies with the authors. It does not reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein.
Para intercambios
a través de su móvil
Para hacerse fan
de la página del Pacto
Para suscribirse
al boletín mensual
Rss feeds
Para recibir noticias
en tiempo real
Con el respaldo político de la Comisión Europea Con el respaldo político de la Comisión Europea. Sitio web coordinado por la Oficina del Pacto.
Noticias | Agenda | Mapa del sitio | Ayuda RSS | Créditos | Legal